h1

Of Sleepovers and Pranks

October 13, 2004

I’ve never been real fond of staying in places other than my own room in my own house, unless is was a hotel or a tent or something like that. I don’t know what it is about me. I was just never comfortable at someone else’s house. Slumber parties and sleepovers are generally a great part of every child’s growing up years. Unless, of course, you were the one who always fell asleep first and got the prank pulled on you, which I never understood why people thought pranks were funny anyway, even the most harmless ones. I’m still of the same mind about pranks and sleepovers.

An ironic thing happened to me today. I got invited to a sleepover and made a prank phone call to a guy I didn’t know. This is the story:

Today was my second day at work and I had the privilege of working with Hallie. Hallie is incredibly friendly and inclusive of all people, and I get the feeling that no one ever feels left out when she’s around. Hallie’s dark brown hair is dreadlocked and bleached blonde on the ends. She wears it in pigtails. I think the second thing Hallie said to me today was, “What are you doing tonight?” I replied with something not so profound but honest: “nothing,” and Hallie was incredibly happy about that. She proceeding to invite me to a slumber party that she was having at her house with some girls who were relatively new to the area. They were just going to hang out and have what she called “girl time”. I know this might not come as a surprise, but I’ve never been super great at that mysterious “girl time” thing. I’d rather be watching basketball and playing Trivial Pursuit than watching 16 Candles and painting my nails. When she invited me to come, three thoughts entered into my mind:

1. Oh man, I hate sleepovers

And

2. Oh man, I moved here to build relationships with people who don’t know God. This activity fits that description.

And

3. But I hate sleepovers.

Solution: I told Hallie I’d come hang out for a couple of hours, but I probably wouldn’t spend the night, which was cool with her. This decision in itself was a stretch, for I had to consciously decide to be social. No one would be there to help me out. No one said I had to go, save God. If I hadn’t gone I would be making excuses to God all day tomorrow about why I couldn’t go, and I would be doing the same to Hallie when I saw her at work on Thursday, which, by the way is lying. Excuses are just really bad lying, and I do it all the time, especially in my head. I think we just call telling lies “making excuses” so we don’t feel as bad about it later. So I found myself at Hallie and Bixby’s. Bixby is Hallie’s husband of 1 and half years. They are hippies. Now, to see some one wearing earthy clothes and dreadlocks and to label them as hippies is stereotypical. It wasn’t until looking at their bookshelves that I was able to come to this conclusion. The most interesting place in all households is the bookshelf. You can tell so much about people by what books they read, or by the fact that they don’t read books at all. Here are just a few words on some of the titles of books that I found: war, peace, vegan, social, dreadlocks. From what I could tell Hallie and Bixby are minimalists. They live on less so that others may have more and they are socially active on many fronts. Hallie described to me a group of people that meet in the park on Sunday mornings and distribute day old pastries and other goods from restaurants to homeless people. It’s called Food Not Bombs. That’s where Hallie had met most of the girls at the “slumber party”.

So I met the girls. Meeting people in large groups is not really a strong suit of mine. I feel very uncomfortable and as if everyone is watching me. Analyzing me. I do this because, let’s be honest, I do it to other people. I wonder, “What makes them interesting?” Even though it was only about 8 girls, I was feeling rather overwhelmed. Meeting 2 people at one time is generally my maximum for feeling comfortable. I know, I know, I’m a social wuss. But hey, maybe that is part of what makes me interesting.

We all sat on the hardwood floor in the living room and watched a movie on a small TV and VCR combo. After the movie I found a girl named April in the kitchen, doing the dishes. Now that is more my style. Find one person and then find out about them. April is from the northeast, either New Hampshire or Vermont. I can’t remember which. She and her boyfriend moved here 2 months ago. She is here to study music, Jazz in particular. She and her boyfriend have been together since March and things are going well for them. She has a brother that is 16 years younger than she is.

“So, why are you here?” is the hardest question to answer. “I’m here to start a church in the city” is vague and weird (again with the honesty). It is hard to tell people that you are a Christ follower, or Christian. I think it is probably like telling someone that you are gay. They automatically assume certain things about you and you can’t control that even though you really really want to. So, when April asked me the infamous question, I just came right out with it and let the chips fall where they may. She said that she thought that was cool, and seemed positive about the fact, but even I say things I don’t really mean. I immediately thought, “oh no, now she thinks I’m a flaming Republican.” Then the voice of reason said, “Adria, stop being ridiculous. She probably thinks that you are just an interesting person with an interesting story, just like you think of her.”

We proceeded back into the living room where the girls were anxious to make a prank phone call to the boys party that was happening at one of the other girl’s houses. When people are doing things like this, it isn’t the greatest idea to mention that you’ve done improv comedy before. I was chosen to make the phone call. I hate pranks. I’ve never made a prank phone call before. However, since I have this problem saying no and thought that this might somehow lead to the advancement of the Kingdom of God, I did it. I was Nadine (a name my old roommate use to use when she made prank calls at Taylor) with BellSouth calling to see if they were satisfied with their service and to ask a few survey questions. It went well. I kept a straight face, the guy bought it until I asked him what he was wearing, and the girls were very pleased.

Leave a Reply

