h1

4 States. 4 Concerts. 1 Band.

November 6, 2004

Last weekend I was privileged to once again witness the genius that is Nickel Creek. My first Nickel Creek show took place in Bloomington, Indiana at the Axis Nightclub in the spring of 2003. I was able to see the band again the following summer in Minneapolis, Minnesota, during my time there with Youthworks. This past summer, while working with Mosaic in Los Angeles, I was once again able to see them at the Roxy on Sunset Boulevard. Now, if I were actually following the band around the country as a lifestyle that would called being a “roady”. As it is, they just seem to show up in the states that I happen to be living in at the time. Last week’s show was bit different though. It was bit more magical, if you will. It was the farthest away I’ve ever sat to see them, and it was also the first time I actually sat at one of their concerts. All the other ones had been in small venues or outdoor festivals where you push yourself as far as you can to the front and hope a tall man isn’t standing in front of you. This show was different for two main reasons. First of all it took place in Nashville, Tennessee. Secondly, the venue in which it took place was none other than the historic Ryman Auditorium, home to the Grand Ole Opry for a whole bunch of years and the best place to hear live music in the entire city (this is debatable, but this is my blog and I say so).

Nickel Creek has the status (I almost wrote “distinguished” status, but that would make my opinion sound like it’s worth more than it really is) of being my favorite band…ever. I know, Mom, I’m always saying “that’s my favorite _______” but this is for real. Nickel Creek is hard to describe, but I’ve succumbed to saying this about them: they’re like Bluegrass without the whisky, divorce, Jesus or twang. If you’ve ever listened to true Bluegrass you know what I’m talking about. They also have a true genius in their musical ability that probably makes Bill Monroe sit up in his grave and listen (FYI: Bill Monroe is the father of Bluegrass). I haven’t officially gone on an investigation of this postmortem listening party, but I would almost guarantee it happens.

Nickel Creek is kind of like Crime and Punishment (only you read it) in that you have to hear them, and are better off to actually see them in concert, to know what I’m talking about. I don’t throw the word genius around too often, but with Nickel Creek there is no discussion. Pick up a copy for you and all your loved ones today!

“You dream of colors that have never been made.
You imagine songs that have never been played.
They will try to buy you and your mind.
Only the curious have something to find.”

[This Side–Nickel Creek, from the album This Side]

Leave a Reply

