h1

Janet Jackson: Child of God

January 29, 2005

It’s that time of year again. That’s right, Superbowl time. Sadly, neither my beloved Colts nor Janet Jackson will be making an appearance this year. With that said, it is time for a confession. To some, this is not new information. To others, well, let’s put it this way, you may never look at me the same way again.

I, Adria Lenore Lambert, love Janet Jackson. Unashamedly. I love Janet (Miss Jackson if you’re nasty) for several reason. First of all, “dang Gina (said with inner city Chicago attitude), that girl can straight tear up the dance floor!” Dancing is a thing of beauty and JJ is an architect of dance. If you have never seen a JJ video, I suggest you take one in at some time. Preferably an earlier video such as “Miss You Much” or “Rhythm Nation.” My personal favorite is “If”, but it is a bit racy, if you’re picking up what I’m putting down. Any dancing that you see in almost any music video today is influenced in one way or another by Janet Jackson, or her brother (not Tito). Secondly, I admire her talent, her creativity and her work ethic. It’s hard work to make the wardrobe malfunction happen at just the right time. It takes hours of rehearsal, not to metion the time spent getting that pasty to stick well, and in the right place. Seriously though, she is a hard-working lady. If I would trade my 20 something body for her 40 something body, she’s got to be a hard worker. Dancers are by nature.

Finally, and more seriously, I love Janet Jackson because Jesus does. I’ve prayed for Janet Jackson. I pray for famous people (Lauryn Hill, Tim McGraw, Patty Griffin, Madonna, just to name a few). They are such influencers of culture. We have to be praying for them. Laugh if you will, but I’m completely serious. There is good inside Janet. She is a socially conscious, compassionate, loving person. Unfortunately, she hasn’t lent herself musically to these pursuits as much since the “Rhythm Nation” album that came out in 1989, exept for a few tracks from her other albums collectively. Those few songs have been overshadow by an overt and unabashed sexuality that caught the eyes of an entire nation one year ago this week. People who were suprised by the “unveiling” during the last Superbowl are completely ignorant of the world in which they live. This is one of the main reasons why the church is so ineffective in America: ignorance of the broken humanity that we are a part of and of how to effectively marry it to Jesus. Ignorance is bliss, but it doesn’t forcefully advance the Kingdom of God. As I watched the end of the half-time show last year, my heart broke, but not for the millions watching, not for those in the Christian ghettos around this country whose ignorance was shattered. My heart broke for Janet Jackson, because she’s been treated as less than she is worth. Because her father was an emotionally distant and hard man. Because she grew up with all eyes watching her, but with no one watching out for her soul.

“Do you love me? Feed my sheep.” -Jesus [John 21:17]

“We are in a race between education and catastrophe.” -H. G. Wells [quoted by Janet Jackson in the interlude to “The Knowlege”]

One comment

  1. Very well put, I really appreciate you sharing that because I think you hit on exactly what is so backwards about the way that we talk about pop culture.



Leave a Reply

