h1

The Blur of July

July 28, 2005

It’s Thursday morning, 6:44 am, and I’ve been awake since 4:44 am.  Nothing on the mind really, just woke up wired.  By the way, I don’t have to be anywhere.  It’s my day off.  So here I am in Panera having a bagel and drinking green tea, thinking, reading, doing a gut check to see if I still want to follow Jesus.  The answer is a painfully joyous yes.  He and I have to have these conversations every once in a while.

July is almost over, and I’m not sure what happened in it.  Well, I’m sure I do remember, I just can’t believe the speed at which things happened.  I got back from Thailand in late June, which seems like eons ago.  My mom and cousin came to visit me for four days over the 4th of July.  I saw Charlie Daniels play "The Devil Went Down to Georgia". I’ve been working.  I’ve been in planning meetings.  I’ve participated in bringing two communities of Jesus followers together (Mosaic and Mosaic).  I’ve had a friend visiting from LA for a week.  My favorite person to work with got fired.  I saw Nickel Creek play through their entire upcoming album before it’s release.  And do I even need to mention the blazing heat and water saturated air that slay me daily?  A lot of things are changing in general, which gives a chaotic feeling to things even if things aren’t really all that chaotic.  Oh yeah, and I took myself on a date to see Batman Begins, which rocked my soul [side note on that: face your fears and live].   

Today is day number one of two days off in a row, and the first of three total this week.  They are all much needed. 

Leave a Reply

